Sergio Perez wins F1 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix 2023 with Red Bull teammate Max Verstappen in P2


In a thrilling race at the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, Mexican driver Sergio Perez secured a well-deserved victory from the pole position, putting in a dominant performance for the Red Bull Racing team. Meanwhile, his teammate Max Verstappen put in an impressive comeback, racing from 15th place to finish second and snatching the fastest lap of the race on the final lap, retaining his lead in the Formula One championship by a single point.

Perez’s victory marked the second consecutive one-two finish for Red Bull this season, following Verstappen’s win in the season opener in Bahrain. The Mexican driver put in a flawless performance, showcasing his speed, skill, and experience as he maintained his lead from start to finish, with Verstappen hot on his heels.

“That safety car again tried to take the victory away from us in Jeddah but not this time,” said Perez, who started on pole last year but was caught out by a safety car deployment.

“I was on for victory last year so finally I got it,” added the Mexican, who now has five career wins.

Despite starting from 15th place on the grid, Verstappen put in a determined drive, steadily making his way up the field to secure a well-deserved second-place finish. His last lap dash to secure the fastest lap was the icing on the cake, earning him an extra point in the championship standings.

Meanwhile, in a disappointing turn of events for Fernando Alonso, the Spanish driver was handed a 10-second penalty for incorrectly serving a previous penalty during the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix in Jeddah. As a result, Alonso was stripped of his podium position and dropped to fourth place in the final standings.

The penalty was a bitter blow for Alonso, who had put in a commanding performance throughout the race and had initially secured a third-place finish along with a podium celebration. However, the incorrect penalty proved to be a costly mistake, allowing George Russell to move up to third place in the final standings.

Seven-times world champion Lewis Hamilton finished fifth and Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz came in sixth place.

Charles Leclerc from Ferrari finished in seventh place, followed by the Alpine duo of Esteban Ocon and Pierre Gasly in eighth and ninth respectively. Kevin Magnussen from Haas secured the final point in the race with P10.

Also Read

Beginner’s guide to Formula 1, see F1 2023 season teams, drivers and more

Formula 1: Can winning Bahrain Grand Prix determine the entire season’s outcome?